Tags

, , ,

Image

On Monday night, the family and I ate at a restaurant we often passed but never tried in St. Charles.  JJ’s is a family restaurant serving American food.  While not fancy, it was a nice locally-owned family restaurant in the St. Charles area, and for that it gets my support.  Here’s a quick rundown of what I liked:

FREE buckets of air-popped popcorn for appetizers.  We had to wait a while for the lovely wife to show up from work, and the hot, buttery popcorn helped pass the time until her arrival.  As my wife will tell you, I am a popcorn snob, and refuse to eat the microwave variety, and am picky about my movie popcorn.  This was good.

Quick, cheerful service.  Our waitress was prompt and pleasant.  A manager also asked how we were doing once our meal arrived.

Giant burgers!  The sign says they are famous for burgers and have served over one million…while not in the McDonalds stratosphere, that’s pretty good.  There are many varieties to choose from, and after some deliberation, I chose the Cajun burger. It was plenty spicy and the patty was surely handmade.   At first, I was a little bummed by the $9 price, but as I saw the patty spilling out the edges of the ample bun, I felt I was getting my money’s worth.

Mayonnaise.  All burgers come with mayo.  As they should.

As a side you could choose fries or onion “tanglers”.  I love having an onion option for a side.  Interestingly, actual onion rings were extra, but these thin breaded onions were greasy good, and were a hit with everyone at the table.

Fries.  I usually don’t like crinkle-cut fries, but my wife had some with her French-dip sandwich (also good).  These fries were slightly crunchy on the outside, and soft on the inside.  Not overdone sticks, or limp and soggy as so many crinkle cut fries seem to be.  Nicely done.

Overall, I’d say if you are looking for a non-chain family restaurant in St. Charles, JJ’s is a great choice for you.  You can’t go wrong with popcorn, pleasant service, and giant burgers.

J J's Restaurant on Urbanspoon

