(Are you finished groaning at my awful pun yet?)

OK!

Last year I lost 50 pounds, and these little breakfast sandwiches were a big part of that.  I feel that they are the perfect blend of protein, carbs, spice, veggies, and melty, cheesy goodness.

You may try many versions of this, but this is my favorite version of all.

One of the reasons I gained about 50 pounds during my first ten years of marriage was a morning habit I had several years back when I passed a McDonalds each morning on my way to work.

Those Golden Arches lured me like an moth to their golden flame of the drive through lane at least once a week for that guilty pleasure, the Sausage Egg McMuffin.  I would have breakfast at home, and actually go for a little grease pick-me-up on the way to work.

Thankfully today, there is no McDonalds on my daily commute.  But, I have found my homemade version to be far superior.  Plus, this won’t drag you into a spiral of guilt and shame!*  Hooray!

*Before you peg me as totally anti-McDonalds, I actually have grown to appreciate them as a parent of a child with Type 1 Diabetes.  I am NOT saying, “Hey, McDonalds is a great Diabetic choice!”  However, McDonalds does a better job of clearly labeling nutritional info than any other fast food place.  For that, my wife and I are very grateful.Image

So, on to the breakfast sandwich:

INGREDIENTS

Non-stick cooking spray (I avoid butter to save on calories on this one)

One egg

One English muffin

One slice of Gouda cheese

A slice of tomato

Salt and fresh ground pepper

Louisiana Hot Sauce (optional, but awesome)

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat a skillet on medium high heat

2. While skillet is preheating, place the English muffin in the toaster and toast to desired level of brown

3. Spray on non-stick cooking spray

4. Crack egg into skillet

5. When muffin is done being toasted, place cheese on the bottom to start melty goodness

6. Add salt and pepper to egg as desired

7. Cook egg to desired doneness (I like over-medium)

8. Place egg on top of cheese and add hot sauce (if desired)

9. Place tomato slice on top, add muffin top

Enjoy the perfect way to start the day.

So, there’s my favorite.  How would YOU make the ideal breakfast sandwich.  Of course, I know bacon or sausage makes everything better.  Does anyone have a unique breakfast sandwich they would like to share?  Let me know!

Finally, tomorrow I should have my first post cooking with my kiddos.

