Tags

, , ,

Image

Last week the lovely wife and I had a miscommunication. She went to Costco and picked up a giant tub of cottage cheese. I went to the store two days later, and passed the cottage cheese, and thought to myself, “Hey, we DO need three more pounds of cottage cheese.” And so I purchased it. When I came home, I encountered our unfinished tub, plus the one purchased by Sarah. Overall, we were looking at about seven pounds of curds and whey.

Image

What to do?

Lasagna.

Back in the day, I used to be a lasagna-making machine. I would make four at a time, and put them in the deep freeze to savor over the winter months. As time went on, I think we experienced lasagna overload, and we got away from that. I asked Sarah today why we don’t eat lasagna much anymore, and her response was, “Because we got fat.” That’s a pretty good answer. However, today is Labor Day. And nothing says labor like homemade lasagna.

Anyway, I will say this, cottage cheese lasagna is easier to make and spread than traditional ricotta lasagna. Interestingly, the whole family said they liked it better.

Here’s the recipe:

1 lb. ground beef, pork sausage, or Italian sausage (tonight it was ground beef)

15 oven-ready lasagna noodles

32 oz cottage cheese

2 eggs

1 jar of marinara sauce

3 cups mozzerella

1/2 cups grated parmesan cheese, separated

1/2 teaspoon salt

pepper to taste

basil and oregano to taste

1/2 cup water

STEPS:

1. In a skillet, brown meat. Once meat is browned, add jar of sauce, 1/2 cup of water, and let simmer on low for five minutes

2. In large bowl add 32 oz. cottage cheese, 2 cups mozzarella, 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, two eggs, 1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper, oregano, basil to taste.

3. Stir that cottage cheese up.

4. Preheat oven to 375

5. place 1 and 1/2 cups of meat sauce mix on bottom of a 9 x 13 pan

6. place 5 lasagna noodles on top…make em’ fit. I usually lay 4 lengthwise and one across the breadth of the pan.

7. Add a third of the cottage cheese layer.

8. Add 1 and one half cups meat sauce on top of cheese.

9. Repeat process until you have built three layers.

10. On top of last layer of noodles place remaining cheese and sauce. Sprinkle 1 cup of mozzarella cheese, 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese on top.

(I added some colby jack for good measure tonight)

11. Bake for 50 minutes

12. Take out at 50 mins and let rest for 10 minutes.

By the way, we cut this recipe into 12 LARGE pieces. We only ate five as a family. Which means this dish will save us some labor on another night. Hooray for Labor Day lasagna!

Finally, for diabetics, I found this site, that tells how many carbs are in one lasagna noodle. So, overall, there were about 28 carbs per slice of lasagna (I added up the sauce, cottage cheese, and noodles in the dish then divided by 12). Katie loved it, but somehow still went high this evening with her blood sugar :(. Such is life, but there you have it, labor saving cottage cheese lasagna on Labor Day.

Image

Finally, what do you all think? Is ricotta or cottage cheese lasagna superior?

Let me know

