Tags

, , , ,

Foolproof.  It’s a word I like.  It’s also a real word…unlike Idiotproof.  I checked with spellcheck.  Which is the epitome of foolproof!

Generally speaking, baking and I don’t get along.  So many steps!  So many measurements!  So much mixing!  It’s unforgiving, and generally not foolproof.  Also, my wife is a FANTASTIC baker.  Her chocolate chip cookies are amazing, and not a secret I will be revealing any time soon.  Therefore, I’ve never really had a great urge to hone my baking skills.

Last week, the lovely wife was away visiting friends in Seattle, and I needed to have a dessert ready for Grandparents Day at school.  This isn’t really in my wheelhouse.  Fortunately, I found a dessert so easy, even I could do it.

In case you don’t click the link, here it is.  You really need to bake it for 45 minutes and not 40.  Finally, the nuts are not necessary (although tasty).

Generally speaking, you probably shouldn’t eat stuff that has the word dump in it.  But, this is a nice exception.  So, here you go:

2 cans of peaches in light syrup.  Dump them in a 9×13 pan.

1 box of yellow cake mix.  Dump it on the peaches and syrup and spread it out.

1 whole stick of butter cut in slices and placed on top of cake.

1 cup of brown sugar spread on top of the whole darn thing.

Bake it at 350 for 45 minutes.

DONE!!

It was a huge hit at grandparents day, and I made it again with the kids for Sarah’s birthday.  So, if you consider yourself a fool when it comes to the mathematical art of baking, try this recipe out.  Because if this fool can do it, that proves you can do it too.

My children are not foolish, but here they are making it for mom on her birthday!  It’s a fun one to do with your kiddos!

Image

Image

Image

This is after they put the butter on top.

Image

And here’s after you put the brown sugar on top.

Finally, here’s a pic of what it looks like once you’re done…oh wait…we ate it quickly.  So, you’ll have to trust me that it’s good…reeeeeeaaaaaal goooooooood.

Have a great weekend, and be on the lookout for a new post on Sunday, which is Mexican Independence Day.

