So, here’s a quick update on the turnips.  I found a recipe online (which I won’t mention) and thought I’d give it a try.  The recipe was entitled Turnip Gratin…

Which rhymes with rotten.

Here’s the deal.  While slicing the turnips I tried one raw.  Not bad.  A bit spicy, but certainly not like a radish.  

I blanched the turnips for three minutes.

I tried a blanched turnip…

Pretty good.  It had a much more mild flavor, like a potato, once it was cooked.

FInally, I put it all together, following the directions in the recipe.

Cooked it in the oven for 25 minutes at 325 degrees.

Here it is:

Image

It can only be described as dry and tasteless.  I’m not exactly sure what I’ll do with it.  So, here’s the deal. I’m going to make something else tomorrow night using the turnips.  I’m thinking either a family recipe for turnip soup or Julia Child’s recipe for glazed turnips.  We’ll see.

Anyway, that’s all for now.  My apologies to my student gardeners and the lowly turnip for failing them so badly.  

