Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Curry powder and immersion blenders are wonderful things.  These are the two lessons as I made what could possibly be my first original creation recipe on this blog.  Sure, I’ve got my own version of chili and black bean soup, but they’re nothing unique.*

*And neither am I.  I just googled “curry cream of vegetable soup” and it is a thing.  Apparently this is sort of how I thought I had invented legos as a child.  To this day, I have no idea why I thought that.

Regardless, I DID NOT use the great Internet Cookbook while making this on Wednesday afternoon.  Basically, I had a fridge full of leftover veggies from a holiday party on December 28th, and needed to find a way to use them.

However, the added challenge is how to get the delightful son to eat said vegetables.  I think if he had his way he’d just eat baked beans and bread.

He’s a classy little guy.

Enter the Cuisinart immersion blender!  It destroys all traces of possibly objectionable vegetables with a dull roar, creating a creamy smooth veil of hidden vegetable goodness.

My second challenge was personal.  I usually don’t care too much for vegetable soup.  No matter how you slice them, boiled vegetables really aren’t that great.  That’s why people add beef (tends to defeat the purpose of VEGETABLE SOUP) or noodles (I really just like my noodles in pasta) or both to their vegetable soup.*

*Even at dinner, my wonderful daughter said she likes my mom’s vegetable soup better.  I asked why.  “Because it has meat and noodles in it.”

So, I was looking for something to season my soup, aside from copious amounts of garlic, salt, and pepper.  Enter the curry powder.  It was sitting in the back of the cupboard, all quiet and unopened.  You may have noticed I love Indian food, and I thought vegetables+curry=South Asian Subcontinental goodness.

That math totally added up.

The curry was not overwhelming, but it added a nice color, subtle aroma, and slightly spicy flavor to the soup.  Anyway, the lovely wife and I both really enjoyed the soup.  The delightful son ate his bowl, and the wonderful daughter had a bowl and a half.

Without further ado, here is the recipe:

2 small onions, diced

4 stalks of celery, chopped

1 cup of chopped carrots (This is an estimate.  I had a large amount of baby carrots from the party that needed to be used)

1/2 cup of chopped bell peppers (also leftover from party)

4 small chopped cucumbers OPTIONAL (My daughter wanted to add these, and I’m glad to have her help cook.  I was unsure, but once again, immersion blender hides all.  Overall, I didn’t notice them.)

1 cup chopped cauliflower florets (party leftover)

1 peeled and diced yukon gold potato (why not?)

2 tablespoons minced garlic

2 tablespoons salt

black pepper to taste

1 and 1/2 teaspoons curry powder

1 32 ounce box of vegetable or chicken broth

2 tablespoons butter

1 and 1/2 cups milk

DIRECTIONS:

Chop up all your vegetables.

Image

Image

Melt two tablespoons of butter in an 8 quart pot and sauté vegetables until they begin to soften.

While sautéing, add salt, pepper, minced garlic, and curry powder.

ImageImage

ImageImage

Once the vegetables have softened, and onions begin to become translucent, add whole 32 ounce container of broth.

Image

Bring soup to a boil, uncovered.  Once boiling, reduce heat to low and allow to simmer covered for AT LEAST an hour, stirring occasionally.Image

Once vegetables have softened, add 1 1/2 cups milk and stir.

Once the milk has been stirred in, use the immersion blender and blend the heck out of it, until soup is creamy.  There may still be a few rogue vegetable chunks, just don’t serve those to your persnickety child.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and enjoy!

Image

