Tags

, , ,

ImageOne of the specialties of the house here is the German Oven Pancake. My grandma and mom made this dish throughout my childhood, and now my lovely wife makes the dish as well.  If you have never made one of these beauties for breakfast or dinner, you are missing out. A GOP (Republicans approve of this pancake) whips a regular pancake any day on both flavor and presentation.  Here’s all you need:

1 cup of all-purpose flour

6 eggs

1 cup of milk

4 tablespoons of melted butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

Greased 8 x 14 pan

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

LIKE ALL BAKING, FOLLOWING DIRECTIONS IS IMPORTANT! Germans demand precision and order…so does this dish. This is why I don’t bake. The lovely wife makes this dish. Anyway, follow these steps in order to successfully make your GOP.

Lightly beat the eggs. Then gradually add the flour. Stir in the melted butter, milk, and salt and you’re done. Pour your GOP mix into a greased 8 X 14 inch pan and pop it into the oven for 20 minutes.

Gather the children (or guests) around for the big reveal when it comes out of the oven. You can serve GOP with syrup, but we also like it with butter, powdered sugar and lemon juice.

A few years back, we lived on my family’s farm outside of Warrenton, Missouri.  I still totally remember the first time the lovely wife made the dish.  We had chickens on the farm and our fridge was overflowing with eggs.  Well, one night my father in law pulled into the farm with a van filled with 12 kids on their way to a mission trip in Mexicali, Mexico.  Anyway, what do you feed 16 people on a Saturday morning?  German Oven Pancake.  It was a huge hit, and it has become a favorite with my in-laws as well,

Finally, the lovely wife has introduced me to Vine, the six second Twitter video thingie. I like it. She made a Vine video of making a German Oven Pancake this morning. It’s pretty cool! Enjoy.

