Soooo….I haven’t blogged much lately.  To be honest, my life is filled with school, basketball, and assorted meetings.  As a matter of fact, I haven’t made anything new or interesting for the last couple of weeks as we have just been trying to keep our heads above water.

We went to the Missouri Botanical Gardens on Saturday, and then tried to get Italian on the Hill at 5pm…bad idea.  Zia’s and Anthonios Taverna were packed and with a diabetic in need of food, we settled on Bartolino’s Osteria.  It was pretty good.  I’m not going to do a full review, but the Antipasti was good, the Caesar salad was OK, and my steak was steaky.  More importantly, we totally nailed the insulin dose for the diabetic daughter who ate fettucini alfredo and copious amounts of bread.  It was a carb bomb, and we covered it well.  Blood sugar in range at bedtime for the win!!!

The only food insight I have to share is that chili is so awesome.  I’ve been making double batches once a week for the last three weeks, and it has kept the family fed and happy over that time period.  You can eat it as soup, put it over pasta, and it is the ultimate leftover.

Finally, I will tell you about the guiltiest pleasure of the last couple of weeks: Straub’s Markets here in St. Louis has this stuff:

Bacon Cheddar Pecan Dip.

The lovely wife and I tried to resist.

RESISTANCE IS FUTILE!

Bacon…good.

Mayonnaise…good.

Cheddar cheese…good.

Pecans…good.

Together…PERFECT DIP.

We spent last weekend secretly eating this dip when the other one was not looking.  Good times.

So, with all that said, I have another crazy week of basketball ahead.  I went to Costco* tonight (after basketball practice) bought groceries for the week, then came home and made chili for tomorrow.

*I think Costco should rename itself THE $100 STORE.  I cannot think of a time within the last three months that I have gone there that I haven’t spent $100.

FAVORITE THINGS AT COSTCO AT THE MOMENT:

Costco Peanuts (they have ruined me for regular peanuts)

Kirkland Signature Black Forest Ham (I think they should rebrand this ham using non-dark forest terminology.)

The Veggie Patch Veggie Patties.  I wrote about these earlier, and they continue to be a healthy hit with the family.

WIth all that said, I’ll try to write something more meaningful in the future, but for the month of February, school and basketball is what is dominating the Crowder family schedule.

Have a good week everyone!

