Tags

, , , ,

Who ever said that baking was hard or required precision?

LIES!

So, overall it’s been a pretty rough last couple of months.  My father-in-law has been diagnosed with brain cancer, and between several trips to MIchigan, the end of the basketball season and my second job as an unpaid board member for my local Lutheran High School, in which I have helped conduct a search for a new Head of School* who will make far more money than I ever will, I have had little time for blogging.

*By the way, Head of School is the new educational buzzword for Executive Director, which was the 1990s word for Superintendent, which was the old word for Headmaster, which pretty much meant Head of School.  Educational buzzwords are hilarious in how quickly they catch on and then fade away.  GLEs, ELOs, ESL, ELL, MAP, Common Core, STEM, and a wide variety of others have filled our vocabulary in the last 13 years, and yet, we don’t seem to get that good teachers + committed students and their families=success.

So after a very frustrating day, I decided to try to be creative with what we had on hand here at home tonight.  I was only making Costco cheese and spinach ravioli with green beans for dinner tonight, and had only about an hour until we had a work night up at school.  Earlier today, I taught my lower graders that fruits provide a home for seeds, and we examined the fruits and seeds of strawberries, apples, and bananas (the fruits we had in the house).  The bananas were on their downward spiral, and I decided I’d try something I’d never done…banana fritters.
After a breif consultation of the Great Internet Cookbook I decided to go rogue and wing it.  I took three mushy bananas, a generous pour out of an almost empty bag of granulated sugar, a couple of spoonfuls of brown sugar, and a half cup of flour and prepared to mix it all together.
At this point my brain kicked in and I realized that I’d need something else to make this appealing.  It was then that I thought of Elvis.  He enjoyed peanut butter and banana sandwiches.  If it’s good enough for the King, it’s good enough for me.  Two scoops of peanut butter coming up!
I decided to take a picture of this, just in case my plan worked out.
Image
Finally, I figured I should add some liquid to bring it all together, so I added an egg.  Then I beat the heck out of those bananas with a fork (The only utensil I used in this entire process).
Soon after beating, I realized a fritter is pretty much code word for disappointing donut.  Also, I’d have to work like a dog to get it done.  I’d have to heat oil, fry up little balls and put them on paper towels…burning myself with grease splatter as an added bonus.  With my timeframe and an actual dinner to get on the table, with you know, vegetables, that wasn’t going to happen.  I also noticed that my batter was pretty runny.
Image
So, I called an audible and googled banana bread.  Apparently baking soda is important…as is salt.  Done and done.
Finally, I added a bit of cinnamon.  I figured all these dessert breads have cinnamon in them.
The other thing that got me thinking banana bread was the St. Louis Food Bloggers Forum.  I went to this event last summer and that was what got me into blogging in the first place.  Back on that hot August day at Vin de Set, they gave us a prize bag.  Included in the bag were two Wilton mini bread pans.  To be honest, I never thought I’d use these things, but here they were today waiting for my banana fritter turned banana bread.  I greased those two little pans and put them in the oven.  When I left for the work night tonight at 6 they weren’t quite finished.  But upon my arrival home this evening at 9:15 I was informed that I had created a pretty nifty banana bread.
Image
It was very good, and I plan on sharing it with my (non-nut allergy) kiddos at school tomorrow.
Will I make this again?  Probably not.  However, it shows that experimenting and trying something new in the kitchen is never a bad idea.  At worst, I had used some bananas, sugar, and flour.  Instead, I created the finest banana bread ever crafted in this home.  So, if you’ve got squishy bananas, flour, sugars, an egg, and some peanut butter, you’ve got bread waiting for you.
So dear neglected readers, what are some experiments that have worked out well for you?  Let me know.
