Tags

, , , , ,

Image

The lovely wife went to a Christmas cookie party at Hannahviolin’s house the other night.  She came home with a bounty of Christmas cookies/candy treats.  Hooray for sugary goodness…however it makes for a constant challenge to my personal resolve to lead a healthy lifestyle.  So far, I’m limiting myself to two small treats a day.  This is doubly challenging since my two favorite treats are lurking in the house beckoning to me throughtout the evening hours.  First, the lovely wife made my personal kryptonite, her chocolate chip cookies*.

*I will never share my wife’s recipe on this blog…I truly think it could be a million dollar idea someday.  Let me just say that Toll House cookies taste like salty garbage in comparison.

Second, my dad made a batch of his mallow mellow.  This dish has quite a history in my family.  As children, my sister and I won some sort of Christmas recipe contest in the Suburban Journals for “our” recipe which was entered by my mom in the kids recipe division.    We got our picture in the St. Charles Journal and split a $50 savings bond!!!  SWEET!  Today, my dad has taken on the role of head confectioner in the Crowder family.  Now, my dad doesn’t do a whole lot of cooking, but at Christmas Mallow Mellow is HIS dish.  Neither my wife or I have been to make it as well as he does.  Even so, it is a wonderful candy that you should make.

What is mallow mellow you ask?  It’s THE best Christmastime treat in my family.  Mallow mellow starts with a layer of mini marshmallows lined on the bottom of an 8×8 pan lined with aluminum foil.

In a saucepan do the following:

Melt 2 cups chocolate chips

2 Tablespoons of butter

1/2 cup of peanut butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Add a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts after melted.

Pour over the marshmallows and chill in the fridge (or freezer if you’re impatient)

When it’s hardened, cut and serve.

I find it nearly impossible to eat just one of these perfect Christmas confections.  I hope you and your family will find them to be a treat as well.

Finally, what is your favorite Christmas candy or cookie?  Let me know!